Practicing Democracy
(2019-2022)

Our interrogations

Echoing history and current challenges related to respect for human rights and the rule of law, to the evolution of our traditions and our political ideals, what narratives can we elaborate or relay to strengthen democracy as an ongoing process?

What conceptions, practices, rights, duties and freedoms are we referring to? What individual and collective tensions are we going through? What types of commitments do citizens want to make and with what intentions? By whom are the initiatives, and can they be implemented?

Are they authorized? Who is concerned? On what representations are they based? At the service of which democratic dynamics?

Our investigations

In order to investigate the multitude and multiplicity of European realities, Practicing Democracy offers a framework of transnational collaboration bringing together a diversity of professional practices with others that are more associative or amateur and incorporating civic engagement.

This initiative aims to offer participants and beneficiaries the opportunity to mobilize and build together spaces for experimentation, negotiation and learning, and to meet and strengthen each other.

​Partners :  Duncan center (GR), Lokomotiva (NM), Myaamala2 (FIN & IT), I-Eum Center (KR), université Paris 8 (FR), GE.CI.TE Gestioni Cinematografiche e Teatrali (IT).

La%20commune_edited.jpg

The project sets the framework for multilateral action (2020-2022) and combines three fields of intervention:

Experimentation#1

Observe practices that stimulate the exercise of democracy: analyze and relay initiatives and singular modes of action via field surveys that will be the subject of documentation and contribution at the local, national and international level.

Experimentation#2

Unite the artistic workshop and the public space to face the question of our social coexistence and the way we understand it.

Rely on the transformative capacity of art to imagine protocols aiming at expression and dialogue, doorways to debate, and gestation of common spaces.

Experimentation#3

Speculate on modes of organization: co-construct and promote spaces of direct democracies via situated systems using collaborative and multidisciplinary methods, at the service of territories and their inhabitants.

Project commencement - fall of 2019:

In 2020, as part of experimentation n°1, extrapole collaborated with three SPEAP master's degree students, a master's in political arts at Science Po Paris: Arthur De Buren (architect), Saïd Abdelmalek Chaoui (consultant in socio-cultural innovation), Benoit Pinero (cultural operator).

Together, we tested a first survey method for the future deployment of the project. This first terrain took place in Aubervilliers, France, at the Ecole des Actes. This method was in response to the following request:

"Based on an observation of the work units instigated and the actions carried out by the members and participants of the Ecole des Actes, establish a map of possibilities.

In the study of the articulation between the individual dynamic and the school's group initiatives, the principles of governance and their implementation will then further allow imagining and speculating on the evolution of the existing activities. "

Practicing Democracy
(2019-2022)

Nos questionnements

En écho à l'histoire et aux défis actuels liés au respect des droits de l'homme et de l'état de droit, à l’évolution de nos traditions et de nos idéaux politiques, quelles narrations pouvons-nous élaborer ou relayer pour renforcer la démocratie en tant que processus continu ?

À quelles conceptions, pratiques, droits, devoirs, libertés sommes-nous renvoyé·e·s ? Par quelles tensions individuelles et collectives sommes-nous traversé·e·s ?  Quels types d'engagements les citoyen·ne·s veulent-il·elle·s porter et dans quelles intentions ? Par qui les initiatives sont-elles et peuvent-elles être mises en œuvre ?

Sont-elles autorisées ? Qui sont ces personnes concernées ? Sur quelles représentations s’appuient-elles ? Au service de quelles dynamiques démocratiques ?

Nos investigations

 Afin d’investiguer la multitude et la multiplicité des réalités européennes, Practicing Democracy propose un cadre de collaboration transnationale  réunissant une diversité de pratiques professionnelles avec d'autres, plus associatives ou amateures s'inscrivant dans une lignée citoyenne. 

Cette initiative veut offrir la possibilité aux participant·e·s et aux bénéficiaires de se mobiliser et de construire ensemble des espaces d’expérimentation, de négociation et d’apprentissage, pour se rencontrer, et se renforcer.

​Partenaires :  Duncan center (GR), Lokomotiva (NM), Myaamala2 (FIN & IT), I-Eum Center (KR), université Paris 8 (FR), GE.CI.TE Gestioni Cinematografiche e Teatrali (IT).

La%20commune_edited.jpg

Le projet pose le cadre d’une action multilatérale (2020- 2022)
et combine trois champs d’intervention :

Experimentation#1

Observer des pratiques stimulant l’exercice démocratique : analyser et relayer des initiatives et des modes d’action singuliers, à travers des enquêtes de terrains qui feront l’objet d'une documentation et de restitutions à l'échelle locale, nationale et internationale.

Experimentation#2

Réunir l’atelier artistique et l’espace public face à la question de notre coexistence sociale et la façon dont nous la comprenons.

S’appuyer sur la capacité transformatrice de l’art pour imaginer des protocoles  à des fins d'expression et de dialogue, de mise en débat et de fabrique d’espaces communs.

Experimentation#3

Spéculer sur les modes d’organisation : co-construire et promouvoir des espaces de démocraties directes à travers des dispositifs situés utilisant

des méthodes collaboratives et pluridisciplinaires, au service des territoires et de leurs habitant·e·s.

Début du projet à l'automne 2019 :

En 2020, dans le cadre de l'expérimenation n°1, extrapole a collaboré avec trois étudiant·e·s du master SPEAP, master d’expérimentation en arts politiques de Science Po Paris, Arthur De Buren (architecte), Saïd Abdelmalek Chaoui (consultant en innovation socio-culturelle), Benoit Pinero (opérateur cuturel).

 

Ensemble, nous avons testé un premier dispositif d’enquête pour le futur déploiement du projet. Ce premier terrain s'est déroulé à Aubervilliers auprès de L'Ecole des actes, il répondait à la commande suivante:
 
"À partir d’une observation des unités de travail instaurées et des actions menées par les membres et les participant·e·s de l’École des Actes, établir une cartographie des possibles.

L’étude de l'articulation entre la dynamique unitaire et les initiatives de groupe de l’école, les principes de gouvernance et leurs mises en œuvre permettra dans un second temps d’imaginer et de spéculer sur l’évolution des activités existantes."