Practicing Democracy is about pooling together resources and skills from different fields, connecting research with professional communities and civil society practices, in order to explore European democratic societies we live in.

 

This lab aims to develop practice research to challenge the notion of democracy and its form of appropriation in our contemporary societies. 

Three activities have been shaped within this lab as an attempt to study and reveal more of European societies we live in ;

1. “Exploring democracy" (Field research)

2. “Creating democracy” (Practice based research)

3. “Co-constructing democracy’ (a foresight research on modes of cooperation)

They all engage ‘‘open innovation’’ processes and focus on new forms of collaboration and contribution approaches to produce and confront narratives as well as diverse operating modes through a common frame of reference and a spirit of risk which needs to be fostered.

The project has been designed by extrapole team composed of Agnès Henry, Danae Theodoridou and Chiara Organtini, in collaboration with the european partners : 

Conexiones Improbables (SP) - L'institut Français (FR) - Lokomotiva (MT) - Myaamala2 (FI) - Université Paris 8, la fabrique des sociologie (FR) - Science Po Paris (FR) - Duncan Center (GR) - WRO art center (PL) - Théâtre de la Commune (FR) - Le 110 Centre socioculturel coopératif (FR) 

#1 Exploring democracy 

>> Field research focus on initiatives in different europeans locations which implement insightful, relevant actions related to the practice of democracy within their particular socio-political context

#2 Creating democracy 

>> A practice-led participatory research - a collective enquiry conducted in the form of a hands-on research on the practice of democracy, which brings together the artistic studio and the public space, co-conducted by researchers, artists, theorists and local collaborators.

#3 Co-constucting democracy

>>A prospective research on how alternative democratic practices could contribute to draw new panoramas and local schemes for European communities. Uprising of creative and innovative actions based on new forms of collaboration and shared leadership seems to be a source of transformation within societies.

Practicing democracy est un laboratoire de recherche-actions européennes dont l’ambition est d’observer et de mettre à l’épreuve la fabrique de la démocratie et ses modes d’appropriation au sein de nos sociétés contemporaines. 

Ce projet se développe autour de l’enjeu essentiel, celui de réunir l’atelier artistique et l’espace public. 

Trois activités ont été modélisées visant à étudier et révéler davantage de sociétés européennes : 
1. “Explorer la démocratie’’ (recherche de terrain) 
2. “Imaginer la démocratie” (recherche axée sur la pratique) 
3. “Co-construire la démocratie’ (recherche prospective sur les modes de coopération) 

Ces trois champs d’interventions impliquent une approche créative, ouverte et rigoureuse, focalisée sur des formes d’interactions, de collaboration et de contribution renouvelant les pratiques démocratiques. Ils réunissent des citoyens, des professionnels et des amateurs, des chercheurs et des militants désireux d'agir sur leur environnement. 

 

Ce projet est piloté par l'équipe extrapole composée d'Agnès Henry, Danae Theodoridou et Chiara Organtini, en collaboration avec les partenaires européen : 

Conexiones Improbables (SP) - L'institut Français (FR) - Lokomotiva (MT) - Myaamala2 (FI) - Université Paris 8, la fabrique des sociologie (FR) - Science Po Paris (FR) - Duncan Center (GR) - WRO art center (PL) - Théâtre de la Commune (FR) - Le 110 Centre socioculturel coopératif (FR) 

logos des partenaires 

#1 Explorer la démocratie 

>> Des enquêtes de terrains menées auprès de plusieurs structures ou groupes de personnes basés dans différents lieux d'Europe qui proposent des initiatives singulières en lien avec l'exercice démocratique. 

visuel qui illustre expolorer la démocratie

visuel qui illustre expolorer la démocratie

#2 Créer la démocratie 

>> Une recherche-action intinérante qui réunit l'atelier d'artiste et l'espace public face à la question de notre coexistence sociale et la façon dont nous la comprenons. 

A travers un protocole La Campagne Analogique la dramaturge Danae Theodoridou met en place des ateliers-résidences afin de réaliser une mise en scène avec les habitants de différents territoires, sollicités par un appel à participation pour le projet. 

#3 Co-produire la démocratie 

>> Une recherche-prospective basée sur des processus collaboratifs d'open innovation mobilisant les communautés locales et un large panel d'acteurs, dont l'objectif est d'imaginer et construire de nouveaux scénarios relevant des modes d'organisation et de gouvernance. 

visuel qui illustre expolorer la démocratie